Two Years Sober

Since I lasted posted, I hit two years of sobriety (January 5). I marked the occasion rather quietly; my family and I talked about it, and they congratulated me. I went to a meeting and picked up my second blue chip. Other than that, I went about my daily life…mostly grateful to be sober but not making a big to-do about it. Within a few days, I stopped checking my sobriety tracker and carried on with teaching and raising my children and such.

It wasn’t until I got sick–first with a cold, which then morphed into pneumonia–that I felt truly grateful for my sobriety. I kept thinking how much worse things would be if I knew I couldn’t drink. I rarely drank when I was sick, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t think about it constantly. Incidentally, for a great description of being grateful for sobriety in the midst of sickness, check out Heya, Monster’s post here.

That’s all for now. I hope this post finds you well. Happy sober Sunday.

 

3 thoughts on “Two Years Sober

Leave a Reply

